Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2001-10-06 - 1:55 a.m.

Spoiling Music / Conservative People

It is funny, but a year ago I absolutely loved VNV Nation and would run out to the dance floor any time I heard any of their songs. VNV was getting tons of club play, but it was new and DJs were also playing the newly released songs. Two years ago I remember having to beg the DJs up at Sanctuary to play any VNV at all.

Catch 22

There is a catch 22 that exists at goth / industrial (g/i) clubs. People all say they want to hear varied sets, and yet DJs feel this need (understandibly) to keep the dance floors packed. Empty dance floors mean unhappy patrons, and that usually means they will stay home and watch a movie next week instead of clubbing. But somebody somewhere must be dancing to all the music we complain has been over played.

I never cared for Apoptygma's Kathy's Song at all. But tons of people love it. I can't remember a club I've been to in the past 3 months were one of the many versions of the song was played. Give it a rest people ... it is not some sort of g/i theme song. But new kids to the g/i scene might think so.

DJs are caught. Most of them take written request lists, which they use as "shopping" lists for looking for new music and to build their play sets for the next week. However, I've looked at the lists when I put my requests down and what sort of songs do you see? The same ones played every night at every g/i club. :(

Goths Can Be Just As Mundane

It bugs me that many goths seem to think they are more creative than your non-goth. Creativity has nothing to do with being a freak or not. Based on the requests lists I see, I've got to say that goths are just as mundane as everybody else.

OK, at a dance club you aren't going to hear new music. But still, there really is a world of incredible goth and industrial and synthpop music out there to choose from ... in fact they really aren't that different. Why not surprise the DJs with a cool request?

I usually have 2-5 songs ready to give to DJs. And I make sure these songs are both dancable but not that frequently played. One DJ (my ex-girl friends new boyfriend) used to ask me what he should play! That has got to be one of the best forms of flattery ... when a DJ asks for your requests, you have to wonder if maybe you have a good taste in music. BTW this DJ actually is one of the best in San Francisco ... it is just such a shame that he basically played such a large part in my break-up. Deep down inside I dislike him, but not nearly as much the loss of respect I have for my ex.

Tonight at Sanctuary, they played 4 songs in a row that were played for the past several weeks! That is just sloppy DJing. I understand that people beg to hear the same things over and over again, but at some point DJs and club owners need to worry about spoiling a song.

I used to so love VNV Nation. I happen to like their new single Gensis, but I have no desire to listen to my older VNV. It is a real shame too.

Of course even though I don't request overplayed songs, I happen to be listening to an album that is overplayed. ;) I guess there is some hope ... but Dead Stars is ruined for me on so many levels. *sniff*

LISTENING TO: Covenant's United States of Mind

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul