Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2001-10-03 - 3:28 p.m.

Goths Own October

There can be no debate about it. Gothic people certainly own the month of October. An added bonus is that we are slowly taking over September and December as well. November is sort of the gothic vacation month, spent to recover from October.

On Sunday my mom helped me revise / make this year's Halloween costume. Basically I've gone back into my childhood and picked something appropriately perki-goth: Blinky Ghost! =)

Even Ghosts Get the Blues

Think about the 80s. Now put yourself in Houston Texas, suburbia. Now imagine a little boy who thinks ghosts can do whatever they want, and that angry ghosts are the best kind. This same little boy likes PacMan, but only because he likes to see the ghosts eat the hungry yellow man.

[ring]

Me and kids: "Trick or Treat!"
Adult: "Blah blah blah blah ... why what do we have here? How cute, a bunny rabbit. And here is a cute vampire. Oh, this cute princess is beautiful. Hehehehe, aliens are always cute. But what are you? Why are you blue? Ghosts aren't supposed to be blue.
Me: "I'm Blinky. I eat PacMen."
Adult: "Pinky? But you are blue!"
Me: "Blinky, as in the blue ghost from PacMan."
Adult: "Winky. What a silly name for a ghost ... why are you blue?"
Me: "No, Winky is the other ghosts. I'm Blinky. I'm blue."
Adult: "Ghosts are supposed to be white."
Me: "I'm from a video game."
Adult: "Video game ghosts? Oh my, I didn't know they made those."
Other kids: "Can we go now."
Me: "Trick or TREAT" Emphasis placed on the treat.
Adult: "I think you should be white."

Mix. Repeat down an entire block. By the end of the night I changed my Halloween concept. I was no longer "Blinky the ghost from PacMan", but instead I became, "I'm so poor I couldn't even cut out a white sheet ... gimme some extra candy please." Sad thing, I scored pretty damn good that year.

Fast Foward 20 Years

OK, so I don't care about candy anymore. In fact, I never liked it then except for lolipops / suckers (yes, I have an oral fixation ...yes you pervs, that way too). ;) But blue is my colour, and ghosts are actually a spiritual thing to me these days. I've improved upon my Blinky Ghost costume, such that this year I've got cartoon mouse hands and an umbrella hat to give me a true Blinky Ghost shape.

Decorating My Office

So people at my office know that Redwood and myself are goths. I came out of the gothic closet 2 years ago, Redwood about 6 months after that. We have a reputation in our 17 story building for having a cool office every October.

This year Redwood added a drop attack spider. Imagine a room filled with computers, two goth-boi environmental engineers, halloween ghost and skeleton decorations everywhere, bat stickers on the windows and a sign that says, "Clap Loudy to Make the Ghost Scream and Scare [Contour]". The trick is that if you clap your hands right when you walk in, a spider we have hidden in the ceiling will drop down right over your head while the ghost across the room screams. We've already scared a few people with our trick. :)

This weekend I'll pick up a few more crazy things. Maybe something that throws snakes at people ...

LISTENING TO: New Order's Low Life

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul