Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2001-08-06 - 7:34 p.m.

Claire Voyant

Saturday night marked the 3rd anniversary of the local SACTO goth / industrial club, and to celebrate the occasion, Claire Voyant played.

Claire Voyant is an etheral gothic group local to Sacramento, but carried on European record labels. I'm always a bit surprised that Claire Voyant doesn't get as much play outside of SACTO ... their lead singer, Victoria is perhaps one of the most talented vocalists I've had the pleasure of hearing.

Six months ago (wow it is hard to think it was that long ago ... but it was) Spring turned me on to them. For Valetines Day Claire Voyant had a CD give away contest at the local club. I went with the sole purpose to win a CD, have it autographed, and then given to Spring (as Claire Voyant is one of her favorite gifts). Basically I thought it would be the kind of thing you just can't go out and do.

I don't know why, but fate shined on me, and I won one of the signed CDs. :) I talked to Victoria and the boys, and had then sign Spring's name on the inside cover with theirs. I then asked Musicia, the local CD vendor, to prevent Spring from buying any Claire Voyant CDs and pull the others aside for myself. Musicia told me she had to lie to Spring to prevent her from buying the stuff (which was really sweet).

I then took the time to listen to Spring's Valetine's present from me, and ended up falling in love with Claire Voyant. Normally I listen to EBM and etheral music just doesn't do much for me. But she was right, there is something ... maybe a form of peace, that I hear when I listen to anything from their first two albums. In fact, if I had to say what element their music makes me think of I'd say "water". Rain in particular. I can literally feel and see rain when I hear Victoria sing. And this is actually an incredibly powerful symbol when coming from a water engineer.

They played a few of their new songs, and I find it very fitting that Victoria announced at the show that they hope to release their next album for Valentine's Day 2002. If I were still dating Spring I'd email them with this story (they already know half of it) and try to get a matching autograhped CD. :)

Shells, Redwood, Particle, Spring, and her boyfriend Wingtip all came up to see them. But only Shells stayed at my place.

Confused and Withdrawn

I'm pretty relationship gunshy right now. This last week I found out from Shells that she formalized her relationship with her friend and now is calling him her boyfriend. I just am not ready yet to become a "secondary", so I was neverous about her coming up. It turns out that she too hates the term and when we talked about that, it really wasn't a problem.

However, being a vegan she is a hard person to care for. Her diet is very special and extra effort must be made when hanging out with her. Redwood was so kind to hunt all over Sacto to find a resteraunt that might work, but it turns out that many Indian resteruants use a processed diary product called ghee. It is a type of butter. So the place he originally selected was no good.

Thankfully she emailed me Saturday morning, so I called Redwood and together we tried to find another place near the club that we all could eat at first. We figured Chinese places might work. So he gave me the number of one place and I asked them about their menu.

I wasn't detailed enough, because Saturday night we found out that in half of their few vegetarian choices they put oyster sauce!

The waiter was a twit. He thought vegetarians could eat oysters, fish, and chicken. This is a perfect example why I hate people who go into resteruants or parties and demand to have chicken because "I'm a vegetarian". That simply is not true and just makes dinner harder for people who are.

So I'm a picky eater

I am not a vegetarian, but I hate seafood. Fortunately I don't think I hate the dish with the oyster sauce. But that was by accident. Spring and Wingtip were 30 minutes late to meeting us before dinner (which was their idea) so we left without them. Shells was actually pretty mad, and frankly I got to see a lot of her anger this weekend. I don't care for how she treats strangers at all.

She ended up yelling at the waiter. Did he deserve it? Hell yes. Was she civil? Certainly. But her confrontational tone is just something that doesn't work for me. She is honest, and very tender and loving to me and people she likes. But her temper is quick to burn (an Irish trait) and she is very condesending and pushy.

I broke up with my second girlfriend (the only time I wasn't dumped) because of just the same thing.

Later at the Claire Voyant show, she yelled at one of the club owners and called him an asshole to his face, because the club doesn't give out free water while the bar is opened. Again, she was actually in line. There was on bar tender and the line was easily 15 minutes or longer in line. Actually I dare say it was 30 minutes to one full hour. It was insane largely due to the huge turn out for such a small club.

Anyway, she could have just asked nicely and tried to reason. It is one thing to be dumb and quiet another to be an asshole. Assholes do things just to piss people off and are selfish. This club owner is far from selfish. In fact, he is a very sweet guy. OK, maybe not a rocket scientist, and he could have been more flexible, but he was very polite even when she yelled at him. I really didn't appreciate the way she made me feel or look. She doesn't have to come up here every weekend. I do.

Now I'm still sick. In fact, I really should not go to work tomorrow. :( I nearly passed out ... something is very wrong with me, so wrong that I'm having hot and cold flashes. I rest, but the medicine I'm taking makes me stop breathing at night. I end up sitting in bed with my frog and flashlight reading comic books. Tonight I'll just try and stay up. Maybe Empire Strikes Back will work? :)

HOT

It is so hot up here. I have my AC on. It is probably working, but right now I can't cool off. Oh, I'm following Spring and Redwood's advice and drinking tons of juice and tea w/ honey. But I'm still not feeling good.

Anyway, I was still bad off on Saturday and went to the club to see Claire Voyant. I ended up resting at the table or in the corner a lot ... I was pretty much unnoticed, which is cool. I didn't want the others to worry. In fact, I felt really good knowing that my friends were nearby and having a good time.

When I drove Shells to my place she said she'd understand if I didn't put out. She was right. There was no way I could have lasted long in sex on Saturday night. We ended up just sleeping naked together. She is actually easy to sleep with. She doesn't steal my sheets and is so small that together we fit comfortably in my bed. We both kick around at night, but she sleeps straight through that and my coughing. And she is always awake when I am. It is nice.

She, like most girls I know, was straving in the morning, and insisted that I take her to a vegan place here in Davis. We went, only to find out that they were "out of food". She was mad again, and it was just too much for me in such a short time. Each time she wasn't mad at me, but I felt as if I failed her.

I had fun with her, and we did find food at the local Co-op. We came back, had lunch, watched the animal planet (hehehehe I like Wombats) and then fucked like mad. :) I'm actually very proud now that I can stay hard for a long time and don't orgasm first. Actually I've had sex with her more than anybody else, and I'm finding out that there is a lot of truth to the cliche that the more sex you have with somebody, the better it gets. I'm very comfy around her for her needs. It was sweet that she also appreciates a boy who can stay hard for such a long time.

It is possible that the type of condom I use is important too. I've recently started using lubed condoms. The non-lubed ones just suck.

Anyway, while I had fun with Shells, it is hard not feeling like I'm letting her down. I'm glad she has a serious boyfriend, and while I'm not saying I wouldn't mind being one too, I see some things that I just don't like. I really am calling her an affectionate friend, and she likes the term too.

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul