Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2001-06-19 - 11:57 a.m.

I'd Sooner Kiss A Wookiee

What is it about Mondays that make them hell? One of the other engineers who usually responds to some of the not so complicated questions I frequently get (basically she does triage for me) is out for the rest of the month on jury duty. The word is out and the senior engineers here know that I've been interviewing and I'm preparing to leave, so all the long term projects I've had people are cross training on, and a heep of short term projects were dumped on my lap (like this will encourage me to stay).

Anyway I was pissed and almost ready to cry by the amount of crap they threw on me in one day. But I don't think me complaining about it would help.

the Empire Strikes Back

Instead, when I got home shortly before 7 PM, I phoned Redwood and asked if I could take him out to grab a MikeyD's. :) Not only did he arrive at my place within my "hour of need", but he came with the Empire Strike's Back DVD.

OK, so the DVD is a bootleg. It happens to be one of the best bootlegs I've seen.

We sat and talked and walked ESB. Nothing else, but that was enough to turn a hell day into a great day! This is for a number of reasons. It is nice to know that your friends will change their plans when you really need them too. And it is nice to chill out with a friend and just hang out. Not do anything, not go anywhere, and not have to be going somewhere else later.

Added bonuses were ESB and MikeyD's. Who wouldn't be happy?

It is kinda scary how much of ESB I have memorized. When the Special Edition films were released in 1997, I saw ESB around 11 times! :) One of those showings was a private showing. I was the only person who skipped school to see it and had the entire theatre to myself!

What do I see in the film?

Well, a hell of a lot. The music is amazing. But it is the artwork that really has my attention. We go from an ice planet, to an asteroid field, to a cold damp swamp, and then to an art-deco city in the clouds. Everywhere is so cold looking.

Not sterile, but the ambiet air temperature looks cold!

And the carbonite freezing chamber is so rivet / industrial looking.

In fact, I really want to have my very own Cloud City. I'd dine with my guests upstairs and then when I'm feeling grump or anti-social, I'd wander around the industrial basement areas.

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul