Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2001-04-05 - 9:58 p.m.

Stromkern

Tuesday night I tested my new relationship as just friends with Spring. I needed to see if I would be comfortable, and I think I was. It helped that we talked a long time, that she offered to drive me to the Stromkern / Icon of Coil concert at the Justice League in San Francisco, and let me crash at her place.

We both went to the show because Musica (and Mixer who is her friend) really were upset by the low turnout for the show. Ticket sales were down and Musica and other rivet promoters out here took a major loss. These people are my friends, and while the recorded albums I've heard from both Stromkern and Icon of Coil suck, I wanted to give them a chance and show my friends I can be there for them.

It was a pretty fucking big sacrafice too. Work has been a living hell this week. Example, I got home on Monday at 10:20 PM. Today I got off work only minutes ago. Though my ex-boss, whom I don't like, was concerned about me putting in so much overtime, that he and Redwood suggested I try this program that allows me to work from home. So since 7 PM I've been telecommuting. Will I charge the state for it? I'll ask first, but you'd better believe that I'm a bit pissed right now.

The model I use just hasn't been working nearly the way it is documented it should. Yeah, I had a "hard" deadline yesterday that I missed because of the concert.

The Concert

So the point of this entry ... Stromkern fucking ROCKS!. I might not like them recorded, but if you get a chance to see them live, do. Their lead singer has a wonderful voice, and incredible sincerity mixed with a commanding stage presence. The other two guys are good too.

My half of the floor was dancing up a storm. In fact, I knocked a few drinks out of people's hands and one woman very politely pushed me closer to the stage after I ran into so many of the people near the back.

The Smurf Rivet

That would be me. I'm small. Really. But I fly on either a dance floor or when crowded and the music is good. The funny thing is that most people just look at me and smile (sometimes I get a pet on the head). There are times I find this demeaning, like when it comes from a lover, but that is because I don't want to be a pet or 24/7 slave or responsiblity. At the very least I like to think I have something to offer somebody. That I'm independent and special ... if not attractive in the non-child like way.

But I also understand and have been told by many that my enthusiasm for music is catching.

Anyway, I would easily see Stromkern when they come back. They are from Wisconsin, so I hope the folks there appreciate them. Would I buy their albums? Probably now. I might not listen to them, but I would like to support them. I think with time they will be somebody who could go far. Again, I think what makes them unique is their lead singer. I'd easily say he has every bit of stage presence and talent as Ronan Harris from VNV Nation.

Icon of Coil

Problably the weakest EBM act I've seen, unless you count N-Vitro or System Snyc that I saw last month when din_fiv played up here in Sacto. The singer was trying way to hard to be a rock star. "Hello San Francisco" in that Norwegian, almost sounds German, accent. One to many times.

I think I'd rather have listened to William Shatner or Brent Spiner sing. Ouch is right, it just wasn't good.

Salesman

So in what is becoming a new second job, I helped out Musica run her CD store during the second half of the show. At one point two guys came up and I ended up selling over $100 in CDs.

Um, Musica usually hits just about this in one night, but I did it all in a matter of minutes. I loaded off tons of Funker Vogt and Fiend Flug, good stuff. I also sold a Claire Voyant CD.

Before the show

It was great to hang out with Spring. I felt she had a good time too, but I still am not happy about reading in her diary that she believes I'm sabotaging her relationship with Mixer. I love her, and I'm not some horrible monster that would do that.

I understand the problem. Mixer doesn't want to be caught in any drama, even though everybody eventually is. Really I think it comes down to he doesn't want to hurt my feelings, but I keep telling him it isn't. He doesn't believe me.

There is nothing I can do except give him time to trust me. You can't make somebody feel comfortable. Ordering them to be only makes things worse. Just like when people order certain young boys to do things ... it damages things a hell of a lot more.

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul