Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2000-11-16 - 21:22:31

Slow servers ... bleck! So I'm sitting here at work, trying to document how to use some programs. One of them is prohibiatively slow (which is something I'm not happy about, but can't change until a few other people get pissed about this).

Basically the problem is this: for our forecasts we take an Excel spreadsheet, convert it into a database (informix I believe) using MS Access. This part is EASY and QUICK. :) Then we send the raw data to another office / server (which is called the Environmental Services Office). That process is quick too.

Then before we can use the raw data, we use another tool (web page) to convert the data to DSS format. DSS is just a type of time series data, actually it is a way data is formatted and actually saved.

Think of it like a list of names and addresses in an apartment building, but the mailman only knows the first address and all the names. The first address is connected to a name, and each name after that is just +1 apartment number higher.

So data is stored like this:

Apt. 1, Change is 1 apartment(s)

Bob Miller

Jane Frenchie

Juan Herandez

Jim Woo

Hilde Krantz

And the mailman would know:

Bob lives in Apt. 1,

Jane in Apt. 2,

Juan in Apt. 3,

Jim in Apt. 4, and

Hilde in Apt. 5.

Not too bad.

Now the problem is it takes a long time to build this information using the tools we've made, which isn't good at all. I'll remember to deal with this next week.

Anyway, in order to wrap up a section I need the computer to work faster. Hence I've a bit grumpy.

The good news, is Spring called me at work today. I don't know why, but I love hearing her voice. *blush* She is so sweet, and a bit bummed herself. I'll just make extra effort to be cheerful this weekend (not like I'll have any problem). We are going skating (or as I told Cricket staking ... which she claims is a very goth thing to do).

Now last night was fun. Pop corn, Baron Von Mauchausin, Pillow Fights, Beer, and Anime Witches with wonderful eyeliner and purple lipstick.

In English: Cricket came over and we had a movie night. We watched the Adventures of Baron Von M. It is a wonderful film. We talked, a lot about politics, which is something we both enjoy and generally agree on many issues. Not everything, but we are pretty close. I'm a tad more conservative than Cricket on propositions, and yet my candidates of choice tend to lean more liberal. Funny how we do that.

And we ate popcorn, drank beer, and watched the Record of Lodos War after the movie. It was 1 AM when I crashed, which is late. Not too late, but considering that I have a big Friday planned it is late.

It is amazing how just spending time like that can be so enjoyable ... doh! The best part we just lounged in front of a warm fire on a cold winter night. *grin* I like fireplaces, they are the one place you can actually see me motionless! :) I rustle around even in bed, but not in front of a warm fireplace.

I've got some CD mixes to work on. Stompie gets one, but she has no idea I'm making one for her. Another co-worked asked me "Why are you goth?" a few days ago. I told her I was "Gothic".

WAIT! The stupid file finally finished, but returned an error message. So I just checked on the actually DSS file it built and it looks correct. Grhhh, it seems slow and working, but returning an error message. OK, so this is my new immediate task.

Anyway I really don't know why I told her I wasn't "Goth" but "Gothic", because I am. Though some other guy said, "Hey weren't you a gothic fly for Halloween?" *Thwap* Fly? Try Baby Bat Buddy! ;)

It still beats Spring's Gothic Flea. Why don't people (make that all people, some co-workers figured out that velvet = bat skin) look at the velvet. Fleas and Flies aren't velvetie!

Hehehehe, Spring suggested I get a King sized bed. I think she is right. Actually I've been bouncing the idea around in my head some time, I'm just not sure what I'd do with my other bed ... I guess make the bunk beds again. Which actually would be cool, 'cause I could then sleep several people in the King bed, 3 in the bunk-trundle beds, 1 on the couch, and however many others on the floor.

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul