Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2005-03-28 - 10:58 a.m.

When It Is Too Late

This weekend I went down to my family's places for Easter. Now I'm not a big Easter fan, as I'm not really into organized religions and I also hate pastels. When I dyed my eggs on Thursday with Bronco, Cloud, Half-Dime, and others, I focused on making our white eggs look brown, purple, and grey. Though I was trying for Ultimate Black IV, I ended up with an egg I've now named "Snickers".

I feel bad that I've stopped writing entries about my life, as much has happened in the past year that is worth writing about. But it was when my mom was reading some old letters written in 1907 from some family members to my great grandmother that I realized the value of recording things. When I die, how many of my thoughts might live on?

For example, though I do not know the man�s name, apparently the principal of "Oakland High School" in 1907 was a "waste of a human being". Sounds silly to us today, but 100-years ago I imagine this is a not-so-polite way of saying that you wanted to slap somebody silly for being a moron and/or an asshole! Basically this ancestor (living in the East Bay) wrote to my Pittsburgh, PA great grandmother about how her son was getting a raw deal at school.

It is actually really neat looking through all the things my great grandmother saved. She never knew me, but the people's thoughts that touched her, have had a short breath of life that was renewed as my mom and I sat and read through the 100-year old collection of notes, letters, and postcards.

My Howie cat is not doing so well. He is peeing anywhere and walking very slowly. I suspect he is in great pain. He doesn't want to be away from people, and purrs around me, but he is afraid of people touching him. I suspect it hurts him.

I've been taking pictures of him, but I'm afraid many of the shots are too late. The cat that now looks at me knows he is dying, and is not the same companion I've had for the past ... 12-years.

Howie is not the only person (well in his case cat) close to me who is in a poor state, but I'm not really ready to talk about that.

-=-

n.p. yelworc :: trinity

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul