Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2004-02-20 - 2:18 p.m.

This Data is Not Cooperating

Right now I'm staring at a plot of miscellaneous daily flows and the daily flows for one river that is part of the miscellaneous daily flows. I'm a bit frustrated, because I don't have a long historic record for the river and I'm having difficult creating a satisfying relationship between the miscellaneous flows and this one river. In fact, I don't even know what the other inputs to the miscellaneous flows are.

Why is this important? Because, the water quality forecasting system I'm setting up makes use of this very small river and in order to test the skill of the forecasting system, I need to go back and recreate historic conditions.

Now the part that really bugs me is that when I look at the scatter plot of the data I see three trends, but there is not enough information for me to pick out any physical or temporal signature in the trends. Without physical or temporal information, anything I do is nothing more than an educated guess.

In brighter news, I'm starting to plan my trip to Germany this summer. It looks like I'll be alone most of the time. I must admit that I'm a bit worried about this, because I've forgotten most of my German. I had hoped that in a few years I could relearn it, but sadly I've just not made the effort.

n.p. the church :: sometime anywhere

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul