Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2004-01-30 - 12:27 p.m.

Packing to Ski

Tomorrow will be my first time to ski. I have no idea what to expect, except extreme cold. However, I figured that the people I'll be with are good company and I should try it at least once. I think I've packed everything.

It has been a busy week. The water quality report I wrote in December is now before a state Assembly committee for review. I don't know what exactly this means, but I was told that out of my 90+ pages that they wanted to change one of my sentences. Their revision seemed good to me. But this means that some of my environmental work will have reached the politicians virtually unchanged.

My Masters Thesis and papers related to it are also part of a controversy. Two of the professors on my graduate committee were and still remain bitter enemies. Part of the reason I didn?t stay for a Ph.D. is this kind of political fighting is still common. I wouldn't be a part of it at all (and would tell them both to fuck off) if Cloud (and Bronco) weren't dependent on them.

It bothers me that my major professor is now claiming that he doesn't have a copy of my thesis. He might not, but I gave him two paper copies (one of which was bound) and an electronic copy. I got my degree and I've moved on, so why are they now fighting over who helped me?

Oh yes, they both are now interested in claiming they've done climate change work. Well I've got news for everybody, I did my own work but with a lot of help from Cloud and one of them (the one that is claiming he wants credit). I'm happy to give him that credit, but he doesn't want me to say this. He wants the other professor.

I can see why he feels this way, but what really bothers me is my ex-major professor just won't give in. He should. In fact, he'll have no choice, because eventually I may just decide to write another paper with the other guy.

n.p. kirlian camera :: absentee

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul