Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-11-13 - 8:45 a.m.

Dreams of University

Even though I have reoccurring dreams, I always am a bit fascinated to hear about other people's reoccurring dreams. I find myself saying, "Wow, I don't ever have any reoccurring dreams."

I'm always wrong.

I've had different reoccurring dreams since I was a child. The latest dream involves me finding out that I have to go back to college (undergraduate) in order to complete three courses: one upper division math course and two elective science courses.

I worked my ass off as an undergraduate and the idea that I would have forgotten to take classes but be given a diploma is a carry over from the fact that in high school when I got mono during finals week, I missed my finals and graduation, but all my teachers still graduated me. They said they just penciled in the grade they knew I'd make.

Invader Contour

So I finished the three courses Texas A&M wanted me to take, but I took them in California. My family flew out to see me graduate (again), but when I was in line to get my diploma, a university woman gave me somebody else's instead. It wasn't even a Civil Engineering degree!

I was outraged, and said, "Hey! You gave me somebody else's diploma, and it isn't even the right degree." The woman went on and on about how I technically had to take that math course and two more elective science courses in Texas. I showed her the courses I took in California and then explained that you can't get into graduate school without having an undergraduate degree. We argued and argued, but she just snapped back the fake diploma and would scratch out other people's names and hand me their diplomas while yelling, "It doesn't mean anything. It is a piece of paper with writing, but so help me GOD, you will not graduate from this university as long as I have authority here!"

She was a crazy woman. Sadly, I've met crazy women like this working these jobs in the universities. Texas A&M had a few. U.C. Davis had a few.

My eyes were glowing hot red. Why was I trapped in this stupid school?!!?

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul