Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-10-19 - 4:21 p.m.

New Experiences

Life is always full of new experiences. Many of them are pleasant, others are not so. I've been having dizziness spells since Tuesday. Never before in my life have I had dizziness spells while otherwise healthy, with one exception: coming off a Merry-Go-Round. But lately when I come home at night and lie down, my room is still spinning and I feel drunk.

I say drunk, because it is exactly like that. I have little dexterity or manual control. Everything is in slow motion, and I feel as if I'm just a passenger on a ride.

Despite being aware of this condition all last week, I still talked myself into going out to a concert on Thursday night. Three bands played at SF's DNA: Terrorfakt, E-Craft, and Male / Female. They were all good, but E-Craft was the weakest of the three. Terrorfakt on the other hand was incredible. But I say this as somebody who prefers power noise and agro industrial to everything else with one possible exception: ethereal music.

I was surprised by the turnout, as lately shows in San Francisco have been poorly attended. I have no idea where everyone has been, but at least many of them showed up on Thursday night. And many of them were new faces.

Friday I went to the doctor. He thinks that I have an inner ear infection and that I should be over it in the next one to two weeks. I certainly hope so, because my stomach hurts and even sitting down everything still seems to spin.

But I did break his advice and drive yesterday and today. Today I took a bag of stuff to Goodwill. Junk really, but what I saw made my day. I had an old Halloween "Purple Pimp" hat and supersoaker in the bag. When I handed the bag to the folks working at Goodwill, two kids immediately dug through my bag and pulled out the supersoaker and hat. One kid was wearing the hat and dancing around, while he fried was firing the empty gun at everything while dancing around.

More adults need to learn to play, and more children need the chance to play. I've already got a few extra toys for this November's Toys-For-Tots drive, but I've also got my eyes on a few other things. The only problem with these toy drives is, I end up buying toys I like for children. While seeing these kids today reaffirmed my belief that I know exactly what a young kid wants, what about the kids that don't think like me? Do they get neglected?

n.p. terrorfakt :: deconstruction

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul