Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-08-29 - 8:36 a.m.

Mars

I'd be terribly remise if I failed to make an entry for an event that not only is likely to not repeat itself in my lifetime, but one that may be in sync with others. Tuesday night and last night I went outside to just look at Mars. Tuesday night came about when Redwood and his new friend Maroon came over to my place at 10 PM. I wasn't sure why they wanted to hang out so late, but Redwood looked tired.

Anyway, around midnight I decided it was time for the three of us to take a late night walk. I love walking and I knew we'd be able to just sit outside at the nearby park and watch Mars.

We did just that. Well, actually we sat on the swing set. I need to remember to go to that park more often at night, as California seems to have a much better view of the heavens (less light pollution) than I had in Texas. [NOTE: I grew up surrounded by refineries, so naturally the sky was overcast and orange at night. Think about many science fiction films.]

Yesterday Cloud bought a new telescope. Apparently he was interested in watching the night sky as well. So once he got it set up, he gave me a call and at 10:30 PM I rushed over and sat on his hammock and talked to him for an hour plus while we looked at Mars, Uranus, and dozens of stars. He could change the magnification of his telescope by changing out lenses, so we could watch a big Mars race across the eyepiece or a small Mars sit in one place.

I was shocked how quickly it moved.

But I wonder, will humans travel to Mars in my lifetime? I hope so!

n.p. yendri :: breakdown of reality

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul