Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2002-10-26 - 1:38 p.m.

Original Date: October 14, 2002

Today should be my last day trip to Amsterdam. I hope to see the Anne Frank Haus and find a few gifts to bring back for family and friends. Delft is about a 1-hour train ride from Amsterdam, which runs about e16.00 for a round trip.

Think about US rail prices, this is a good deal. (Passing through: I wonder which car on this train that cute goth girl got on ... oh well.)

Though this is only my second trip to Europe, I'm now convinced it is always cold and wet here. Before I could start on my train trip I had to wait for the Post Office to open so I could change my extra US checks into euros (e). Monday morning most shops are closed. And since the Prince is going to be buried tomorrow, Delft is too busy preparing for a rush of people to even have the pubs opened. So instead of drinking yummy German or Belgian beer I took a walk.

The Dutch are terrible drivers. Nice people, but they need to learn how to drive. It sure seems as if cars have the right of way. So while walking in the rain, one of many cars came racing down the narrow brick streets. Fearing for my life, I politely hugged a building, thus giving the car the entire road ? both lanes. Naturally the driver took this as a cue to remind me how poor the locals drive and he swerved into the curb (and gutter) next to me without slowing down. It is nearly an hour later and my pants are still wet. (Gotta love my coat though.)

What can I say? Every society has assholes. I was not really in danger, so if anything the splashing struck me as pretty damned funny. At least now it does.

Though this trip really was to see Cricket, it has naturally allowed me to really get to know Smurf. He really is a wonderful guy (BTW who is nothing like a smurf) and somebody I feel much closer to now. I've also gotten a great time to study people in general. People are interesting, but something in the way most people behave makes me fear for the future as well as motivates me to play a larger role in making sure that future is something I am comfortable with.

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul