Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2002-07-04 - 4:09 p.m.

Mobius Strip

First, Persephone is over again. I wish I felt like running around more, but even then, unlike my folk's younger cat, she seems to prefer that people play with her on her terms, and I just don't know how she'd take to hide and seek.

Last night I went for the longest walk I've taken in months. Instead of walking along my jogging route, I went to a semi-private subdivision that is not too far away. Unlike the rest of the subdivisions here in town, there are no street lights. I had my mini-maglite with me, but I felt like I was walking in complete darkness.

Add to this that the subdivision is built around either a park or golf coarse (I couldn't tell in the dark). This meant that I walked for miles in what is basically a dark strip along rows of rich houses.

The yards of these homes shocked me! They are the size of the homes in Texas. I never imagined that people could own so much land in California. Anyway, after the first hour of my walk, I had no sense of direction left and was beginning to wonder if I was trapped in some yuppie version of a Mobius Strip.

It was nice to hear fire works and see explosions to the West (OK, I could still kinda tell my compass bearing, but only because of the fireworks) on the day before Independence Day. It is a shame that I'm not driving down to the Bay Area but I'll get plenty of chances to club in the next few months.

My first priority is to get used to walking. I understand I'll be doing lots of that when I finally get to Europe.

LISTENING TO: Dead Can Dance Into the Labyrinth

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul