Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2001-10-08 - 1:20 p.m.

Shrine Is Back!

After junkyarding with Redwood, we visited one game store (I've been awaiting the new release of those little mage-knight figures), a music store, and finally Macy's and Mervins. Saturday night we drove down to Oakland to the new Shrine of Lilith venue.

The venue is a friend of mine's loft in a pretty seedy part of Oakland. Last year I had my hubcaps stolen from outside his place while at a fetish club that used to be hosted there. Saturday night some unlucky guy had his car broken into. In fact, I hear about a breakin almost every time I'm there.

I need to talk to my friend and see if he could put me on staff, as I'd like to have a walkie talkie and just sit out near the cars for part of the night. I think if people sit out there, that there would be fewer problems. But as it is, it really is a pretty dangerous neighborhood.

In fact, somebody once killed my friend's cat and placed it on his front doormat. :( Sometimes I'm not sure why he lives there.

Anyway, there is something nice about this venue to. Most g/i clubs are hot and crowded inside. Few have good air circulation, and the end result is that when you go dancing, typically you want to dress nearly nude. Well, you certainly don't ever want to layer if you plan on dancing.

But this venue has its own private parking lot where you can dance outside if you get too hot inside. :) They even run some speakers outside too.

Something you rarely see in most city based clubs is fire dancing. In the past few years the goth scene in San Francisco has really embraced fire dancing, and now it is part of most of the group activities up at Burning Man (which I've not been to, but I have been to plenty of benefit parties). Fire dancers are normal people, but they typically have oil soaked balls on chains that they twirl around while they slowly dance. It is pretty damn cool to watch. The added bonus is most of the fire dancers dress really rivety.

It was good to see Alexandra and many people I've not seen in a long time. In fact, it really has been about a month since I last clubbed in the Bay Area, but everybody always makes me feel at home. My friend had guest listed me! It is nice to just walk into a club and be somewhat important and certainly missed.

A New Girl

So last month there was a woman at the fetish club whom I met and have been slowly talking to in emails. Unfortunately she is a submissive like myself, so the chances of the two of us scening are slim. However, I'm certain if I talk to Lashes that we can arrange a scene. It has been a long time since my last scene and I'm ready to play some more. I missed the last fetish club and the Folsom Street Fair this year, so it certainly is time I resurfaced.

On Saturday night I left Shrine mid-way through to visit this girl I met. She works at a hostel during the night shift, so it is hard to get to see her. We ate desert at Mel's Dinner on Van Ness Avenue and talked about all sorts of things. I'm pretty certain she is somewhat interested in me, and she even talked about wanting to learn to switch. The best part is I want to switch some too.

Unfortunately she is going to New York for a few weeks, so I'll have to wait until she gets back to talk about sceneing with her.

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul