Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2001-10-19 - 3:09 p.m.

Witch Hunt

Today's story isn't really mine, but I will focus on how I feel and how this effects me. Lashes, my dom and friend, currently has been home sick for a few weeks with pneumonia. Worse yet, she has a cracked rib.

She has been emailing and calling most of her friends. Like me, she is a terrible patient, and just doesn't understand the need to just stay at home and rest. Today she complained increased chest pains while vaccuming. ::sigh:: Somedays I really believe the saying "the meek will inherit the Earth" should be modified to "the lazy will out last us all".

The Hunt

It certainly goes without say that I really wish Lashes was feeling better. I also wish I lived an hour closer so I could take care of her. But I don't and knowing that some things are just beyond my ability to fix is OK.

But then Lashes told me that her teacher's union has asked her to removed any compromising (i.e. BDSM) photos of her from the web. Lashes has been very careful to tell very few people her real name. In fact, she only told it to me when I was with her and her other teacher friends (though I had found out long before from one of her boyfriends).

It turns out that her union found out that somebody wants her fired and is planning to use the fact that she is a semi-professional dominatrix as the grounds for her dismissal from her school district.

How Did They Find Out?

The question in my mind isn't should she remove the photos or not. Of course she should. But I've seen most of them, and how some parent or school administrator could make the connection between her night life and her day job astounds me.

Either there is some right winged nut who is so intent on finding demons in society that they scan the private BDSM web pages just looking to match faces to names of public employees -or- one of her exboyfriends / play partners has ratted her out. Lashes thinks it is an ex, I think there is just some paranoid born again Christian.

How Do I Feel?

Aside from being angry that somebody is pulling this sort of shit on one of my friends when she is obviously sick and injured, I also just wish people would grow up and realize that kinky sex is not a crime.

Why aren't these people spending their time doing something useful? I think they should be teaching or attending cultural sensitivity classes. Hate crimes have increased in light of the current international conditions. So you want to help, do that. Or maybe work on benefits to raise money for WTC survivors? Or maybe help the police find out what twisted human is sending anthrax in the mail.

Witch hunts are by their very nature stupid. If I was an administrator at Lashe's school, I'd tell that concerned citizen group that in the face of terrorism, chasing after a sick kindergarden teacher because she likes to look sexy and do sexy things is a tragic waste.

LISTENING TO: The Frozen Autumn's Fragments of Memories

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul